top of page


What Is FSSAI?

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) is an autonomous body. It was established under the Government of India's Ministry of Health & Family Welfare. By regulating and supervising food safety, FSSAI is responsible for protecting and endorsing public health.

The headquarters of the FSSAI are in New Delhi. The authority also has six regional offices based in Delhi, Guwahati, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata and Cochin.

FSSAI's main objective is

  • To lay down quality standards for food products.

  • To legislate food production, processing, distribution, import and sale.

  • Facilitating food safety.

FSSAI License Types

There are three sorts of licenses under FSSAI, namely the Basic license, the Central FSSAI license and the State FSSAI license.

  • Basic FSSAI License

  • Central FSSAI Licence

  • State FSSAI license

Basic FSSAI License

License Eligibility:

  • Businesses those are small in turnover (12 Lakh INR per annum).

  • FBO as a dairy with a potential of less than 500 ltr / day at the budding point.

  • This license is ideally required for trades such as tea shops, canteens, food processors and small warehouses. When the business starts to expand in capacity and profit, it can be upgraded.

bottom of page